FREE Farlingaye High School iPhone & Android App
Useful Links

Useful Links

Farlingaye High School

Farlingaye High School

Health and Social Care










Exam Board

Level 2 BTEC Award  (Years 10 and 11)


More info

Level 3 BTEC, extended certificate (Years 12 and 13)


More info

Key Stage 4

Edexcel BTEC level 2 Award in Health and Social Care

This course is offered in year 10 and is a two year course. The level 2 award is equivalent to a GCSE qualification and is graded as; Pass Merit or Distinction. The course involves 4 units over the two years; 3 are coursework portfolio passed units, the fourth is an external examination sat in the January of year 11.

Topics covered include:

 Human Lifespan Development - external examination assessment


 Promoting Good Health


 Health and Social Care Values

 Coursework Portfolio Assessment

 the Impact of Nutrition on Health and Wellbeing


Key Stage 5

Edexcel BTEC level 3 Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care

This course is offered in year 12 and is a two year course. The level 3 extended certificate is equivalent to one A level qualification. After the first year of the course there is the option for students to ‘drop down’ to the level 3 certificate in Health and Social Care, this is equivalent to one AS level qualification. Over the two years four units are covered, half of which are assessed through coursework portfolio tasks. With the remaining two external examination units, one exam is sat at the end of each year of study.

Topics covered include:

Year 12

Human Lifespan development – external assessment

Meeting Individual support needs – coursework portfolio

Year 13

Working in Health and Social Care - external assessment

Psychological perspectives – coursework portfolio