FREE Farlingaye High School iPhone & Android App

Farlingaye High School

Information Technology


BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology


Qualification Type:

BTEC Qualification equivalent to A Level


Entry criteria (GCSE grades):

4 in Computer Science or Merit in Creative iMedia


Subject description:

This course is for highly motivated students who want to develop the knowledge and skills needed to become a competent IT user. The BTEC National qualification is more practical than a traditional A Level and the skills and knowledge acquired will support further study towards entry level roles in IT, such as vocational apprenticeships, social media specialist, web/content developer, or business analyst.


Over the course of the two years’ students undertake two pieces of coursework the focus being on business use of social media and website development. The external examinations will develop a sound understanding of IT technologies and practices which are essential for IT professionals. This will create a solid foundation in the fundamentals of hardware, networks, software, the ethical use of computers and how businesses use IT. You will also develop an understanding of the uses of information in the public domain, globally, in the cloud and across the Internet, by individuals and organisations. You will discover that good  management of both  data and information  is essential and that it can give any organisation a competitive edge.


Units studied:

Unit 1: Information technology systems, (Externally set paper exam)

Unit 2: Creating systems to manage information, (Externally set practical exam)

Unit 3: Using social media in business, (Internally assessed coursework)

Unit 6: Website development. (Internally assessed coursework)


How the course is assessed:

60% Examination

40% Coursework


Post-18 opportunities:

Information Technology gives students a good range of skills used in the modern workplace, and would be appropriate for anyone. In today’s world, where ICT is constantly changing, individuals will increasingly need technological and information literacy skills. These skills are now as essential as the traditional skills of numeracy and literacy. The BTEC Nationals have been developed and redefined to be aimed specifically at students aged 16+, and to be more relevant to further education and employment.  The BTEC  Level 3 National  Extended Certificate in Information Technology qualifies for the same UCAS points as traditional A Levels.


Teacher responsible:   Mr C Shaw.